Centre for Political Studies

Welcome to the Centre for Political Studies. Founded in 1971 the centre has an outstanding reputation for academic excellence. In the first year of its existence, the Centre launched the M.Phil. /Ph.D. programme with 15 students. In the following academic year, the M.A. programme was launched. In keeping with the spirit of the JNU Act of 1966, the Centre for Political Studies incorporated a strong interdisciplinary emphasis in the structure and design of its syllabi. Since then the Centre for Political Studies has become one of the largest Centres of the School of Social Sciences drawing students from all parts of the country and abroad.

Please read the instructions carefully before registration. You are requested to follow the guidelines given below before filling up details regarding courses.


Class Time-Table for Monsoon Semester 2020-21


Course requirements for the Master's Degree in CPS


  • Students in the M.A. programme at the Centre for Political Studies are required to take 16 courses in total with 4 credits for each of the courses to obtain the Master's degree.  They need to have a total of 64 credits for the 16 courses for completing the course work required for obtaining the MA degree in CPS.  

  • Out of these 16 courses, they are required to take 10 compulsory courses with 4 credits for each course to be taken in the centre.

  • Out of the remaining 6 courses of 24 credits, four optional courses of 4 credits each have to be taken from the centre.  Only two optional courses with 4 credits each can be taken from outside the centre.



Courses offered for the MA first semester joining in December 2020/January 2021

All students have to take the following four compulsory courses.


  1. PO410N: Indian Politics I: Political Thought in Modern India - Manindra Thakur, Rinku Lamba

  2. PO411N: Indian Politics II: Political Institutions - Anupama Roy, Tapan Kumar Bihari

  3. PO414N: Political Philosophy: Key Concepts I - Vidhu Verma, Jubilee Shangrei

  4. PO417N: Comparative Politics - T.G. Suresh and V. Biju Kumar


Courses offered for the MA Fourth Semester (Winter Semester) 2021

Compulsory Courses

PO 413 - Indian Politics IV - Prof. Dwaipayan Bhattacharyya & Prof. Narender Kumar

PO 416 - Readings in Political Thought - Dr. Amir Ali & Dr. Papia Sengupta

Optional Courses

PO 511 - Philosophical issues in Marxism - Dr. Rajarshi Dasgupta

PO 517 - State Politics in India - Dr. Harish Wankhede

PO 521- Development Planning in India - Dr. Tapan Bihari

PO 531 - State in India - Prof. Vidhu Verma

PO 544- Recognition, Redistribution and Representation - Dr. Ajay Gudavarthy

PO 545 - Globalization and Development - Dr. T.G. Suresh

The classes for the MA 4th Semester (Winter semester 2021) will begin from February 4, 2021.  Students are required to attend online classes regularly. 


Course requirements for M.Phil. and PhD. Students (Admitted in the academic year 2020-21 and registering in December 2020/January 2021)


  • The M.Phil. and Ph.D. students admitted to the Centre for Political Studies are required to do course work. They must do four courses with four credits each, spread over a period of one year, divided into two semesters in the Centre. 

  • The students are required to take two compulsory courses and two optional courses.

  • These courses can be taken from the list of courses approved for the M.Phil. program.

  • These include two compulsory courses (as given below) and two optional courses.

  • The optional courses have to be chosen from a series of M.Phil. optional courses offered in the Centre each semester. The optional courses for Monsoon semester are given below.

  • The optional courses should be taken in both the semesters with at least one optional course in each semester.



Courses for the M.Phil. and Ph.D. First semester (Monsoon semester) students registering in December 2020/January 2021


Compulsory Courses


  1. PO601N: Philosophy and Methods in Social Sciences - D. Bhattacharyya, Shefali Jha

  2. PO602N: Approaches, Concepts and methods of Political Analysis - Asha Sarangi

Optional Courses

  1. PO 622: Agrarian Movements and Politics in India - Sudhir Suthar

  2. PO 630: Texts in Political Philosophy - Gurpreet Mahajan

  3. PO 636: Politics and Ecology: Environmentalism and Political Theory - V. Biju Kumar

  4. PO 637: Dalit movements in Contemporary India - Narender Kumar

  5. PO 639: Citizenship in India: Laws, Politics and Institutional Practices - Anupama Roy

  6. PO 640: Body, Power, Knowledge: Introduction to Biopolitics - Rajarshi Dasgupta